32510894

Synopsis:

There isn’t much that can throw Charlie Hazard off balance.  But the mystery woman with the striking eyes and the intense request to follow her – now – is about to shake his world.  Knowing little more than her name, Charlie leaves his post as a guard at the Satellite Beach community centre for what he thinks is just another risk-containment job.  But Gabriella, an experimental psychologist, has far more in store for him than protection duty – if the two of them survive the test.

Reese Clawsom relishes her work at the Combine and all the perks and power that come with it – including the ability to manipulate perceptions.  But the Combine never anticipated this mind-shifting technology..  If Gabriella’s experiments succeed, the Combine would be destroyed.  And Reese will never allow that to happen.

My Review:

Fault Lines by Thomas Locke ended up being an excellent book in my opinion, but it wasn’t until I was about half way through that I actually thought that.  During the first half of the book I had difficulty keeping track of all of the characters and their roles in the plot.  In the end, however, I ended up loving Charlie Hazard’s character.  His integrity, honour and compassion.  His strength and his skills and abilities.  I also ended up really enjoying Gabriella’s character although I never did fully understand why she was so quiet and seemingly withdrawn.

In the first half of the book I also had some trouble following the plot.  Between Charlie, Gabriella and her team, Reese and her team at the Combine and Charlie’s old friend Donovan Field, it was hard to keep it all straight.  But as with the plot, by the end of the book all the characters came together and the plot came together to end up being a fantastic science fiction novel. (Not my usual choice of genres.  But I’m glad I stepped out of my comfort zone)

I would definitely recommend this book to others to read.  It is an easy read, a clean read and it keeps you guessing and keeps you anticipating what is next.

*This book has been provided courtesy of Compassion Canada and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.*

 

Leave a comment